Your pension

Your pension at Fresenius

Which rules apply to me? Find the information you need in just a few clicks.

Your direct insurance

Want a better pension? Here's how it works.

With the Fresenius Basic Plan, we lay the foundation for your company pension. You can also make provision yourself - with contributions to direct insurance. With direct insurance, you have the option of paying premiums from your gross salary. You gain from the tax benefits and saved social security contributions.

But, it gets even better. Whether you are employed on a tariff or non-tariff basis, you will receive a basic amount for your direct insurance from Fresenius, even without your own contributions. If you are paid according to a collective bargaining agreement, the Fresenius supplementary contribution is added. All you need to do is to take out direct insurance.

Overview of contributions

Basic amount

All tariff and non-tariff employees are entitled to a basic amount (“Entgelt­umwandlungs­grundbetrag”) of €478.56 per year from their seventh month of employment. Part-time employees receive a proportional amount. All you have to do is to sign the direct insurance application forms. The Insurance department will be happy to assist you with the application.

Fresenius supplementary contribution

If you are entitled to collective bargaining benefits, you will receive the Fresenius supplementary contribution in addition to the basic amount when you take out direct insurance. You can find further information here under "Contribution Levels". For companies in which the chemical industry collective agreement applies, the amount for full-time employees is €134.98. Together, with the basic amount, this is an additional €613.54 for your pension.

Personal contribution

To best provide for the standard of living you would like to have in retirement, it is recommended that you contribute as much as you can to build up your pension pot. With direct insurance, you can do this. You can make contributions from your current monthly salary and/or one-off payments, such as Christmas or holiday bonus. Non-tariff employees can also convert their variable into a personal contribution. Contributions come directly from your gross salary. No taxes are collected - and depending on the amount of your contribution - usually no social security contributions. Tax and social security are only deducted from your wage after your premiums have been deducted.

Additional supplementary contribution

Fresenius rewards personal initiative with additional supplementary contributions for employees who are entitled to collective bargaining benefits. For every €100 you contribute, the Fresenius supplementary contribution increases by a further €13 - up to a maximum bonus of €312 per year. You can then determine your total contribution using the table for the specified contribution levels on our download page.

Example

Tariff employee at Fresenius Medical Care; Contribution: €106.70 per month

 EUR

Basic amount

+

 EUR

Fresenius supplementary contribution

+

 EUR

Your own contribution

+

 EUR

Additional supplementary contribution

=

 EUR

Total annual contribution to direct insurance

How to save taxes today

If you pay your own contributions into direct insurance, you save taxes and social security contributions. This is because your contributions are deducted directly from gross salary. A total of €3,408 (2021) can be paid into direct insurance free of tax and social security contributions per year - including the basic amount and all Fresenius supplementary contributions. In addition, you can contribute a maximum of €1,800 tax-free from your own contributions.

Tax and social security are only deducted from your salary after your direct insurance premiums have been deducted. The deduction therefore reduces your taxable and contributory income. As a result, in net terms you do not pay the full contribution, but approximately half. Taxes and social insurance contributions only become payable upon payout.

Without contributionWith contribution

Without your contribution to direct insurance, the usual taxes and social security contributions are levied on your gross salary.

Your contribution reduces the taxable income. You therefore pay less tax and social security contributions. This is why your net salary is not reduced by the full contribution.

My contribution

Gross income

Net reduction

Net income

What happens with the money

01

Direct insurance

The basic amount, Fresenius supplementary contributions and your personal contributions are paid into direct insurance. This is a special type of life insurance. Fresenius has chosen Allianz as its partner. Thanks to a group contract, you benefit from particularly favourable conditions.

02

Investment strategy

You decide whether the investment of your contributions should be adventurous or cautious. In the “Perspective” pension concept, your contributions are invested in Allianz's guaranteed assets. The investment strategy is therefore less susceptible to fluctuations. The fund-based "InvestFlex" pension concept offers you higher returns due to its focus on investment in shares but is in turn more exposed to the opportunities and risks of the capital markets. Both pension concepts offer the guarantee that the total amount of contributions paid into the pension fund will be available at retirement.

03

Value growth

In both pension plans, you are guaranteed all contributions for retirement benefits at the start of retirement (guaranteed capital). Depending on the development of the capital market and your chosen investment strategy, you can also benefit from participating in the surpluses generated by the insurance company or the value gain of your fund-linked investment.

When is the pension paid out?

What is paid out?

Withdrawal options

Taxes on payout

Complete flexibility

When it comes to pension payouts, flexibility is very important. You have the flexibility to request payment from direct insurance between the ages of 62 and 75. Please note that the amount of the payment is reduced if the payment is made before reaching the standard age limit. The payout must be taxed in full. So, if you make use of the benefit while you are still working, your tax burden may increase.

What you get

You are immediately guaranteed all the contributions you have paid for your pension. Through participating in insurance surpluses and positive capital market development, your pension assets will continue to grow until you retire. In the event of death before the start of your pension, your surviving dependants receive the contributions you have paid for your retirement plus the payout from the profit participation or the current policy value for a fund-linked contract.

Suited to you

A lifelong pension or a lump sum payment? The choice is yours. There is a 10-year pension guarantee period. This means that if anything should happen to you within the first ten years after the start of your pension, the outstanding pension payments will be converted into a lifelong benefit and paid to your surviving dependants.

How it works

When paying in, you benefit from the tax advantage and the saved social security contributions. However, taxes and social security contributions apply to the payment of benefits. You then bear full contributions for health and nursing care insurance, including employer contributions, insofar as you are insured under statutory health insurance. However, you make no contributions to unemployment and pension insurance. The tax rate during retirement is, nevertheless, generally lower than during working life.

Do you have money to give away?

What to do now

You can apply to participate in direct insurance immediately after the start of your employment at Fresenius. You can pay your own contributions. To apply, send this form with your personal details to the Fresenius Insurance department by September 15th at the latest. You will then receive your personal insurance proposal. Happy? Then send in all completed documents by September 30th. Done - Fresenius takes care of the rest.

We will be happy to check whether your insurance can be transferred within a capital transfer to our group contract partner, Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG, and continued there under the currently applicable conditions. To do this, please contact the insurance department shortly after joining the company to give us sufficient time for processing.
Alternatively, you can continue the contract privately and take out a new direct insurance policy under our group contract. The required deferred compensation amount for the payment of contributions must be established by September 30th of the current calendar year at the latest. A deviation from this deadline is only possible with a start date at Fresenius after this date; this does not apply to a possible new contract.

Are you about to retire? Please contact the Insurance Department to clarify which payment date is suitable for you and which payment option you wish to choose.

Things to keep in mind

You make a saving on social security contributions when paying in your own contributions from gross salary. This saving can lead to a reduction in statutory pension benefits. However, this potential reduction in statutory benefits is generally more than compensated for by the basic amount and the performance of the contributions in direct insurance.

As with most contracts, there are administrative costs payable to Allianz for participating in direct insurance. These are already accounted for and will not be invoiced separately. Due to the favourable terms of the group agreement, the costs are significantly lower compared to taking out private insurance.

The basic amount is an annual contribution to your direct insurance. In the first year of employment, this is paid proportionately by Fresenius, since the entitlement only comes into effect after seven months. In order to get the full annual premium, the missing sum may be retained in the first insurance year from your Christmas bonus. To prevent this, you can apply to participate in direct insurance from your second year of employment onwards.

 

Do you have further questions about direct insurance? You can find out more here.

Das gilt für Sie

Ihre Altersvorsorge bei Fresenius

Welche Altersversorgung gilt für mich? Mit wenigen Klicks finden Sie es raus.

Ihre Direkt­versicherung

Noch besser vorsorgen? So funktioniert’s.

Mit dem Fresenius Basisplan legt Fresenius die Grundlage für Ihre betriebliche Altersversorgung. Zusätzlich können Sie selbst vorsorgen – mit Beiträgen zur Direktversicherung. Mit der Teilnahme an der Direktversicherung haben Sie die Möglichkeit, eigene Beiträge aus dem Bruttoentgelt einzuzahlen. Dabei profitieren Sie vom Steuervorteil und von eingesparten Sozialversicherungsabgaben.

Aber es kommt noch besser: Wenn Sie tariflich oder außertariflich beschäftig sind, erhalten Sie – auch ohne eigene Beiträge – den Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag von Fresenius für Ihre Direktversicherung. Wenn Sie tariflich bezahlt werden, kommt die Fresenius-Förderung dazu. Was Sie dafür tun müssen: eine Direktversicherung abschließen. Und so geht's.

Beiträge im Überblick

Entgeltumwandlungs­grundbetrag

Alle tariflich und außertariflich Beschäftigten haben ab dem siebten Beschäftigungsmonat einen Anspruch auf den Entgeltumwandlungs­grundbetrag in Höhe von 478,56 EUR pro Jahr. Für Teilzeitkräfte gilt ein anteiliger Beitrag. Die Voraussetzung: Ihre Unterschrift auf den Antragsformularen zur Direktversicherung. Die Versicherungsabteilung unterstützt Sie gerne bei der Antragstellung.

Fresenius-Förderung

Wenn Sie Anspruch auf tarifliche Leistungen haben, erhalten Sie neben dem Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag beim Abschluss der Direktversicherung auch die Fresenius-Förderung. Weitere Informationen zu den Beitragsstufen der unterschiedlichen Gesellschaften finden Sie im Download-Bereich unter „Merkblätter“. Bei Gesellschaften, in denen der Tarifvertrag der chemischen Industrie Anwendung findet, liegt der Betrag für Vollzeitbeschäftigte bei 134,98 EUR. Zusammen mit dem Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag sind das 613,54 EUR zusätzlich für Ihre Vorsorge.

Eigener Betrag

Um Ihren Lebensstandard im Ruhestand optimal abzusichern, ist auch Ihr persönliches Engagement notwendig. Mit der Direktversicherung können Sie mit eigenen Beiträgen Ihre Vorsorge aufbauen. Mögliche Beiträge sind Teile aus Ihrem laufenden Monatsgehalt und/oder Einmalzahlungen, wie z.B. Weihnachts- oder Urlaubsgeld. Außertariflich Beschäftigte können außerdem ihre Variable in einen Eigenbeitrag umwandeln. Die Beiträge fließen direkt aus Ihrem Bruttoentgelt. Es fallen keine Steuern – und je nach Höhe Ihres Beitrags – meist auch keine Sozialabgaben darauf an. Erst nach Abzug Ihrer Beiträge wird Ihr Bruttoentgelt versteuert und verbeitragt.

Extra-Förderung

Eigeninitiative belohnt Fresenius bei Beschäftigten mit Anspruch auf tarifliche Leistungen mit einer zusätzlichen Förderung. Für je 100 EUR eigenen Beitrag erhöht sich die Fresenius-Förderung um weitere 13 EUR – bis zu einem maximalen Bonus von 312 EUR pro Jahr. Im Download-Bereich finden Sie unter „Merkblätter“ die Beitragsstufen der unterschiedlichen Gesellschaften.

Beispiel

Tarifmitarbeiterin bei Fresenius Medical Care; Eigenbeitrag: 106,70 EUR pro Monat

 EUR

Entgeltumwandlungs­grundbetrag

+

 EUR

Fresenius-Förderung

+

 EUR

Ihr eigener Beitrag

+

 EUR

Extra-Förderung

=

 EUR

Gesamtjahresbeitrag zur Direktversicherung

So sparen Sie heute Steuern

Wenn Sie eigene Beiträge in die Direktversicherung einzahlen, sparen Sie Steuern und Sozialversicherungsabgaben. Denn Ihre Beiträge werden direkt vom Bruttoentgelt abgezogen. Pro Jahr kann ein Gesamtbeitrag von 3.408 EUR (2021) steuer- und sozialabgabenfrei in die Direktversicherung eingezahlt werden – inklusive des Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrags und der gesamten Fresenius-Förderung. Darüber hinaus können Sie maximal weitere 1.800 EUR steuerfrei aus eigenen Beiträgen einbringen.

Erst nachdem Ihr eigener Beitrag zur Direktversicherung abgezogen wurde, wird Ihr Bruttoentgelt versteuert und verbeitragt. Der Abzug verringert also Ihr zu versteuerndes und zu verbeitragendes Einkommen. Dadurch verzichten Sie netto nur auf einen Teil Ihres Beitrags, nämlich ungefähr auf die Hälfte. Erst bei der Auszahlung fallen Steuern und Sozialabgaben an.

Ohne BeitragMit Beitrag

Ohne einen Eigenbeitrag zur Direktversicherung fallen die üblichen Steuern und Sozialabgaben auf Ihr Bruttoentgelt an.

Mit Eigenbeitrag sinkt das Einkommen, das versteuert wird. Daher zahlen Sie weniger Steuern und Sozialabgaben. Ihr Nettogehalt reduziert sich daher nicht um den vollen Beitrag.

Mein Beitrag

Mein Brutto

Nettoverzicht

Mein Netto

Das passiert mit dem Geld

01

Direktversicherung

Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag, Fresenius-Förderung und Ihre eigenen Beiträge fließen in eine Direktversicherung. Das ist eine besondere Form der Lebensversicherung. Als Partner hat Fresenius die Allianz ausgewählt. Aufgrund eines Gruppenvertrags profitieren Sie von besonders günstigen Konditionen.

02

Anlagestrategie

Sie entscheiden, ob Ihre Beiträge eher chancen- oder eher sicherheitsorientiert angelegt werden sollen. Im Vorsorgekonzept „Perspektive“ werden Ihre Beiträge im Sicherungsvermögen der Allianz investiert. Die Anlagestrategie ist damit weniger anfällig für Schwankungen. Das fondsbasierte Vorsorgekonzept „InvestFlex“ bietet Ihnen durch den Anlageschwerpunkt in Aktien höhere Renditechancen, ist aber damit stärker von den Chancen und Risiken des Kapitalmarkts abhängig. Beide Vorsorgekonzepte bieten die Garantie, dass zum Rentenbeginn in jedem Fall die Summe der für die Altersvorsorge gezahlten Beiträge zur Verfügung steht.

03

Wertentwicklung

In beiden Vorsorgekonzepten sind Ihnen alle Beiträge für die Altersversorgung zu Rentenbeginn sicher (Garantiekapital). Je nach Entwicklung des Kapitalmarktes und der gewählten Anlagestrategie können Sie darüber hinaus durch die Beteiligung an den von der Versicherung erwirtschafteten Überschüssen oder dem Wertgewinn Ihrer fondsgebundenen Anlage profitieren.

Wann wird ausgezahlt?

Was wird ausgezahlt?

So wird ausgezahlt

Steuern bei Auszahlung

Absolut flexibel

Bei der Auszahlung wird Flexibilität großgeschrieben: Die Auszahlung aus der Direktversicherung können Sie zwischen dem 62. und 75. Lebensjahr beantragen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich die Höhe der Leistung bei Auszahlung vor Erreichen der Regelaltersgrenze entsprechend reduziert. Die Auszahlung muss voll versteuert werden. Wenn Sie also die Leistung noch während Ihres aktiven Arbeitslebens in Anspruch nehmen, kann sich Ihre Steuerlast erhöhen.

Das kommt raus

Alle eingezahlten Beiträge für die Altersvorsorge sind Ihnen sofort sicher. Durch die Beteiligung an Überschüssen der Versicherung und eine positive Kapitalmarktentwicklung wächst Ihr Versorgungsguthaben bis zum Rentenbeginn weiter. Im Todesfall vor Rentenbeginn erhalten Ihre Hinterbliebenen die eingezahlten Beiträge für die Altersvorsorge zuzüglich der Leistung aus der Überschussbeteiligung, bei einem fondsgebundenen Vertrag den aktuellen Policenwert.

Passt zu Ihnen

Lebenslange Rente oder Auszahlung als Einmalkapital? Die Wahl liegt bei Ihnen. Es gilt eine
10-jährige Rentengarantiezeit. Das heißt: Sollte Ihnen innerhalb der ersten zehn Jahre nach Rentenbeginn etwas zustoßen, werden die noch ausstehenden Rentenzahlungen in eine lebenslange Versorgungsleistung umgerechnet und an Ihre Hinterbliebenen ausgezahlt.

So funktioniert’s

Bei der Einzahlung profitieren Sie vom Steuervorteil und von den eingesparten Sozialversicherungsabgaben. Für die Auszahlung der Leistungen fallen aber Steuern und Sozialabgaben an. Sie tragen dann die vollen Beiträge zur Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung, also auch die Arbeitgeberanteile, soweit Sie in der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung versichert sind. Dafür entfallen die Abgaben zur Arbeitslosen- und Rentenversicherung. Der Steuersatz während der Rente ist jedoch insgesamt meist niedriger als während des Arbeitslebens.

Haben Sie Geld zu verschenken?

Das ist jetzt zu tun

Die Antragstellung zur Teilnahme an der Direktversicherung ist sofort nach Ihrem Start bei Fresenius möglich. Sie können direkt eigene Beiträge einzahlen. Zur Beantragung schicken Sie das Formular mit Ihren persönlichen Angaben bis spätestens 15.09. an die Fresenius Versicherungsabteilung. Sie erhalten anschließend Ihren persönlichen Versicherungsvorschlag. Passt alles? Dann reichen Sie alle Unterlagen ausgefüllt bis 30.09. ein. Fertig – um den Rest kümmert sich Fresenius.

Falls Sie schon eine Direktversicherung von Ihrem vorherigen Arbeitgeber mitbringen, prüfen wir gerne, ob diese im Rahmen einer Deckungskapitalübertragung auf unseren Grupppenvertragspartner, die Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG, übertragen und dort zu den aktuellen geltenden Bedingungen fortgesetzt werden kann. Bitte setzen Sie sich hierzu kurzfristig nach Diensteintritt mit der Versicherungsabteilung in Verbindung, um uns für die Bearbeitung genügend Zeit zu geben. Alternativ können Sie den Vertrag privat weiterführen und eine neue Direktversicherung in unserem Gruppenvertrag abschließen. Stichtag für Vertragsbeginn bzw. Übernahmestichtag ist jeweils der 1.12. des Antragsjahres. Die für die Beitragszahlung erforderliche Entgeltumwandlung muss bis spätestens 30.09. des laufenden Kalenderjahres festgelegt werden. Eine Abweichung von dieser Frist ist nur bei Diensteintritt nach diesem Termin möglich, gilt jedoch nicht für einen möglichen Neuabschluss.

Ihr Ruhestand steht kurz bevor? Dann wenden Sie sich bitte an die Versicherungsabteilung, um zu klären, welcher Auszahlungszeitpunkt für Sie in Frage kommt und für welche Auszahlungsoption Sie sich entscheiden.

Das sollten Sie beachten

Bei der Einzahlung eigener Beiträge aus dem Bruttoentgelt werden Sozialabgaben eingespart. Diese Einsparung kann zu einer Reduzierung der gesetzlichen Rentenleistungen führen. Durch den Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag und die Wertentwicklung der Beiträge in der Direktversicherung wird die mögliche Verringerung der gesetzlichen Leistungen jedoch in der Regel mehr als ausgeglichen.

Wie bei den meisten Vertragsabschlüssen fallen auch bei der Teilnahme an der Direktversicherung auf Seiten der Allianz Administrationskosten an. Diese sind bereits in den Leistungen einkalkuliert und werden Ihnen nicht gesondert in Rechnung gestellt. Durch die attraktiven Konditionen im Gruppenvertrag sind die Kosten im Vergleich zum Abschluss einer privaten Versicherung deutlich niedriger.

Bei dem Entgeltumwandlungsgrundbetrag handelt es sich um einen Jahresbeitrag zu Ihrer Direktversicherung. Dieser wird im ersten Beschäftigungsjahr anteilig von Fresenius gezahlt, da der Anspruch erst nach sieben Monaten entsteht. Um auf den vollen Jahresbeitrag zu kommen, kann es sein, dass im ersten Versicherungsjahr die fehlende Summe aus Ihrem Weihnachtsgeld einbehalten wird. Um dies zu vermeiden, können Sie die Teilnahme an der Direktversicherung auch erst im zweiten Beschäftigungsjahr beantragen.

 

Sie haben weitere Fragen zur Direktversicherung? Zusätzliche Informationen finden Sie hier.